LIVE EVENT WILL START IN:

Date: Tuesday, September 29, 2020
8:00 PM ET / 7:00 PM CT / 6:00 PM MT / 5:00 PM PT

Add to Calendar

About the Live Broadcast and Presentation:

Once believed to be a rare disorder, congenital sucrase-isomaltase deficiency (CSID) is increasingly recognized as an overlooked cause of unexplained abdominal pain and functional GI symptoms in pediatric and adolescent patients. Characterized by reduced or absent sucrase-isomaltase enzyme activity, this genetic condition results in undigested sugars and starches in the small intestine and colon and variable symptoms that can include chronic diarrhea, abdominal pain, failure to thrive, gas, and bloating.

Join Joel Rosh, MD and Tanaz Danialifar, MD as they discuss the latest data regarding CSID and review practical strategies for recognizing and treating this condition in contemporary clinical practice.

Faculty:

Tanaz Farzan Danialifar, MD
Assistant Professor
Pediatric gastroenterology, hepatology, and nutrition
Children's Hospital Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA

Joel R. Rosh, MD, FAAP, FACG, AGAF
Director, Pediatric Gastroenterology
Vice Chairman, Clinical Development and Research Affairs
Goryeb Children's Hospital/Atlantic Children's Health
Professor of Pediatrics
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
Morristown, NJ

Target Audience:

The internet broadcast will target pediatric gastroenterologists and related health care providers.

Goal Statement:

The goal of this internet broadcast is to provide education on the latest emerging data for the management and treatment of CSID.

Educational Objectives:

Upon completion of this educational activity, participants should be able to:

  • Describe the prevalence of CSID in pediatric patients with common GI disorders
  • Incorporate current diagnostic strategies to differentiate CSID from other causes of persistent diarrhea seen in clinical practice, particularly among pediatric patients with suspected IBS
  • Summarize benefits and limitations of current treatment strategies for CSID
  • Recognize various phenotypes of CSID in pediatric patients

Accreditation Statement and Credit Designation:

This activity has been planned and implemented in accordance with the accreditation requirements and policies of the New Mexico Medical Society (NMMS) through the joint providership of Rehoboth McKinley Christian Health Care Services (RMCHCS) and GI Health Foundation. RMCHCS is accredited by the NMMS to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

RMCHCS designates this live activity for a maximum of 1.0 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits ™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

Supported by an educational grant from QOL Medical, LLC

Provided by:

Accredited by: